Vertas ‘Commended’ by RoSPA in the Facilities Management Sector Award

Submitted by Amelia O'Hanlon | 28/04/2020

We are proud to have received an internationally-recognised award for demonstrating high health and safety standards.

Vertas Group Limited has received a RoSPA Commended in the Facilities Management Sector Health and Safety Award for working hard to ensure our colleagues, clients and customers get home safely to their families at the end of every working day.

The competitive Industry Sector Awards recognise the organisations that have demonstrated the best health and safety management performance within specific industry sectors. In each sector there will normally be one overall winner. One or more organisations may also be ‘commended’ or ‘highly commended’.

Organisations receiving a RoSPA Award are recognised as being world-leaders in health and safety practice. Every year, nearly 2,000 entrants vie to achieve the highest possible accolade in what is the UK’s longest-running H&S industry awards.

Vertas Group Chief Executive Officer Ian Surtees, Associate Director for HSQEC&G Kelly Fellowes, and Senior HSQE Manager Danny Markham, will be presented with the award at a ceremony on Tuesday 8th September 2020 in London.

Kelly Fellowes, Associate Director for HSQEC&G said: “We have made significant progress in developing the health and safety culture within Vertas Group: launching a Health, Safety and Wellbeing Strategy and embedding Health and Safety as a ‘golden thread’ that runs through everything we do at Vertas. Our strategy includes clear objectives and targets for all operational areas, ties in with our People Strategy and maximises our communication channels to get clear messages, initiatives and campaigns to our colleagues.

“This commendation is evidence that the steps we have put in place are having an impact and builds on the Gold RoSPA Award we received in 2019. I’m extremely proud of the progress that we have made and look forward to taking health and safety to the next level across the group.”

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of qualifications, awards and events, said: “The RoSPA Awards scheme is the longest-running of its kind in the UK, but it receives entries from organisations around the world, making it one of the most sought-after global accolades in health and safety.

“RoSPA wants every employee, wherever they are, to work safe in the knowledge that they will be going home unharmed and healthy at the end of every day. The RoSPA Award winners are vital to help achieve this goal, as by entering they are driving up standards and setting new benchmarks for organisations everywhere. Currently, around 7 million people are directly impacted by the RoSPA Awards, but the scheme’s influence is even wider.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, president’s awards, orders of distinction and the Patron’s Award are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are specialist awards for health at work, environmental management, safety delivered outside of the workplace, and fleet safety, and excellence trophies for the best international organisation, new entry, workforce involvement, leisure organisation, and organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

Headline sponsor of the RoSPA Awards 2020 is NEBOSH – the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health – for the 15th consecutive year.

More information about the RoSPA Awards 


Share this article

If you like this article please share it with your friends

Press enquiries

For all press and media related enquiries please contact

Beth Wade

Keep in touch

Check out our social media channels and follow us to keep updated with our latest news.