Meet the team

SGH Trading as Vertas Group Main Board
Operational Board
Our Senior Leaders
SGH Trading as Vertas Group Main Board

Ian Surtees MBA, FIoD – Group Chief Executive Officer and Chair

Ian joined Vertas in September 2014 having spent 25 years working within the facilities management arena, most recently for OCS in the UK but also has experience of senior operational management within Europe.

Duncan Johnson – Non-Executive Chair

Duncan is responsible for chairing the SGH trading as Vertas Group main Board and representing the interests of its shareholder. He has over 25 years’ experience holding director roles in both the public and private sectors, and this has led to him developing a specialism in business and strategy development, performance management and service turnarounds.

Louise Wilson – Non-Executive Director

Louise joined the Vertas Group Board as a NED in February 2023 and also Chairs the Remco. She currently sits on 2 other Boards and works as an advisor delivering strategic HR projects, leadership development and facilitation, and executive coaching and mentoring for a number of businesses and individual clients. Louise is a generalist HR professional with significant international experience and is used to leading global functions that cover all aspects of Business and HR across many countries.

Robert Everitt – Non-Executive Director

Robert has been a councillor, representing Bury St Edmunds, since 2003. Since being elected he has undertaken a wide variety of roles, culminating in him being appointed Portfolio Holder for Families and Communities at West Suffolk District Council, and elected Chairman of Suffolk County Council. As a strong advocate of celebrating local success he introduced Suffolk County Council's Chairman's Award, which recognises good work undertaken by local people across Suffolk.

Operational Board

Ian Surtees MBA, FIoD – Group Chief Executive Officer and Chair

Ian joined Vertas in September 2014 having spent 25 years working within the facilities management arena, most recently for OCS in the UK but also has experience of senior operational management within Europe.

Keith Buet – Chief Operating Officer

Keith has worked in the FM and Service industry for over 37 years. He joined Vertas in February 2018, after time in Australia and the Middle East as Operations Director looking after FM.

Jamie Smith – Group Chief Finance Officer

Jamie joined Vertas in September 2020 after a career of more than 20 years spent in senior finance roles in the housing, construction, property development and energy industries in the UK and overseas.

Kate Innes – Group Chief People Officer

Kate joined Vertas in May 2015 and has nearly 20 years of working experience in HR across a variety of sectors, including Pharmaceutical, retail, Manufacturing, Automotive and the NHS. Kate holds a BA Hons 2:1 in HR and Business Management and is CIPD Level 7 qualified. Kate is responsible for the Groups People Strategy, as well as Group culture, Colleague Health & Wellbeing, Organisational Development, and GDPR. Kate is the Board representative for our Schools’ choice business.

Matthew Self – Managing Director, Concertus

Providing overall operational and commercial direction and leadership for the Concertus Group, Matthew is responsible for the performance management of all professional services and Director of the joint venture companies with Derbyshire County Council.

Brad Sinclair – Managing Director, Opus

​Brad has extensive knowledge in Business and Finance, joining Opus from public practice where he acted for a variety of businesses of all sizes, across a number of industries. Brad trained with a Top 10 National Firm of Chartered Accountants and is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (FCCA).

Our Senior Leaders

Karen Burrowes – Operations Director

07714 272624 Karen.Burrowes@vertas.co.uk

Adrian Glasgow – Head of Energy Services

01473 263948 adrian.glasgow@vertas.co.uk

Andrew Pemberton – Head of Business Development

07565 204716 andrew.pemberton@vertas.co.uk

Beth Wade – Group Head of Marketing

07808 251 590 Beth.Wade@concertus.co.uk

Bill Farley – Head of Cleaning and Specialist Services

07542 228951 bill.farley@vertas.co.uk

Dominic Warren – Group Head of Procurement

07843 501925 Dominic.Warren@vertas.co.uk

Edward Smith – Head of Oakpark Security

07714 898286 edward.smith@oaksec.co.uk

Jonathan Miller, Group Associate Director of IT and Systems

07917 905591 jonathan.miller@vertas.co.uk

Jo Spencer – Head of Schools’ Choice

07718 100976 jo.spencer@schoolschoice.org

Katie Robinette – Head of People Experience

07704 017536 katie.robinette@vertas.co.uk

Lee Burden – Head of HSQE Compliance and Governance

07917 733489 lee.burden@vertas.co.uk

Lee Howes – Head of Fleet and Passenger Services

07584 374681 Lee.Howes@vertas.co.uk

Lee Johns – Head of FM (SCC and WSC)

07761 598955 lee.johns@vertas.co.uk

Mark Horner – Head of Vertas Environmental

07777 677414 mark.horner@vertas.co.uk

Nadine Coleman – Head of Integrated Facilities Management

07921 944455 Nadine.Coleman@vertas.co.uk

Rachel Shaw – Head of FM (VDL)

07917 905969 rachel.shaw@vertas.co.uk

Sarah Layton – Group Head of Sustainability and Social Value

07595 090143 sarah.layton@vertas.co.uk

Scott Welton – Head of Finance

01473 944545 scott.welton@vertas.co.uk

Shaun Swan – Head of Grounds & Landscaping Services

07860 258412 shaun.swan@vertas.co.uk

Stephen Whiting – Head of Specialist Cleaning Services

07801 854011 stephen.whiting@vertas.co.uk

Stuart Sayers – Group Financial Controller

07917905435 stuart.sayers@vertas.co.uk

Zara Zurowski – Head of Culture and Policy

07917 908392 zara.zurowski@vertas.co.uk