Meet the team

Operational Board
Senior Leadership Team
Heads of Service
Operational Board

Duncan Johnson – Chairman

Duncan is responsible for chairing the board and representing the interests of its shareholder. He has over 17 years’ experience holding director roles in both the public and private sectors, and this has led to him developing a specialism in business and strategy development, performance management and service turnarounds.

Ian Surtees MBA, FIoD – Chief Executive Officer

Ian joined Vertas in September 2014 having spent 25 years working within the facilities management arena, most recently for OCS in the UK but also has experience of senior operational management within Europe.

Keith Buet – Chief Operating Officer

Keith has worked in the FM and Service industry for over 37 years. He joined Vertas in February 2018, after time in Australia and the Middle East as Operations Director looking after FM.

Jamie Smith – Chief Finance Officer

Jamie joined Vertas in September 2020 after a career of more than 20 years spent in senior finance roles in the housing, construction, property development and energy industries in the UK and overseas.

Kate Innes – Chief People Officer

Kate joined Vertas in May 2015 and having studied HR and Business Management BA Hons Degree at University she started her HR career on a graduate programme with Boots the Chemist, in Nottingham Head Office. Kate is CIPD qualified and has nearly 20 years of working experience in HR across a variety of industries, including Pharmaceutical, Retail, Food Manufacturing, Automotive and the NHS. Kate has line management responsibility for the Groups' People, Payroll, Recruitment, Organisational Development, GDPR support services as well as our Schools' Choice business.

Matthew Self – Managing Director, Concertus

Providing overall operational and commercial direction and leadership for the Concertus Group, Matthew is responsible for the performance management of all professional services and Director of the joint venture companies with Derbyshire County Council.

Brad Sinclair – Managing Director, Opus

Managing Director, Opus

​Brad has extensive knowledge in Business and Finance, joining Opus from public practice where he acted for a variety of businesses of all sizes, across a number of industries. Brad trained with a Top 10 National Firm of Chartered Accountants and is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (FCCA).

Senior Leadership Team

Kelly Fellowes – Associate Director – HSQEC&G

07912 931052 Kelly.Fellowes@vertas.co.uk

Karen Burrowes – Associate Director – Operations

07714 272624 Karen.Burrowes@vertas.co.uk

Liam Swift – Associate Director – Operations

07834 601934 Liam.Swift@vertas.co.uk

Karen Morphew – Associate Director – Finance

07526 178831 Karen.Morphew@vertas.co.uk

Sam Goody – AD Commercial Services, Opus

sam.goody@opuspeoplesolutions.co.uk

Tom Brown – AD Business Services, Opus

tom.brown@opuspeoplesolutions.co.uk

Selena Ayling – AD Managed Services, Opus

Selena.ayling@opuspeoplesolutions.co.uk

Gary Knight – Commercial Director, Concertus

07973 458493 gary.knight@concertus.co.uk

Kirk Schartau – Operations Director, Concertus

07540 669113 kirk.schartau@concertus.co.uk

Heads of Service

Aaron Hughes – Head of People

07714 842566 aaron.hughes@vertas.co.uk

Adrian Glasgow – Head of Energy

01473 263948 adrian.glasgow@vertas.co.uk

Bill Farley – Head of Cleaning

07542 228951 bill.farley@vertas.co.uk

Dominic Warren – Head of Procurement

07843 501925 Dominic.Warren@vertas.co.uk

Holly Smart – Head of Brand

07850 883284 holly.smart@vertas.co.uk

Jo Spencer – Head of Schools’ Choice

07718 100976 Jo.Spencer@vertas.co.uk

Julia Dolan – Head of Customer Relations

07717 513520 Julia.Dolan@vertas.co.uk

Karen Pardoe – Head of Education Catering

07895 332533 karen.pardoe@vertas.co.uk

Lee Burden – Head of HSQE Compliance and Governance

07917 733489 lee.burden@vertas.co.uk

Lee Johns – Head of FM

07761 598955 lee.johns@vertas.co.uk

Mark Horner – Head of Vertas Environmental

07777 677414 mark.horner@vertas.co.uk

Martyn Kenworthy – Head of Fleet and Passenger Transport

07889 301456 martyn.kenworthy@vertas.co.uk

Matthew Atkinson – Head of IT

07922 381024 Matthew.Atkinson@vertas.co.uk

Nadine Coleman – Head of Property Management

07921 944455 Nadine.Coleman@vertas.co.uk

Peter Sutton – Head of Security Services

07712 652255 peter.sutton@vertas.co.uk

Philippa Brathovde – Head of Business Development

07732 603615 Philippa.Brathovde@vertas.co.uk

Rachel Shaw – Head of FM Services (Derbyshire)

07917 905969 rachel.shaw@vertas.co.uk

Shaun Swan – Head of Grounds

07860 258412 shaun.swan@vertas.co.uk

Stephen Whiting – Head of External Cleaning

07801 854011 stephen.whiting@vertas.co.uk

Sian Durrant – Head of Programmes and Projects

07720208841 sian.durrant@vertas.co.uk